13 Comments

what kinds of VT homework? #34

Summer is ending, so of course I have affixed a pair of essentric eccentric circles on the front door, with painter’s tape.  Welcome to Strabby Sally’s house,  where vision therapy homework materials are displayed like holiday decorations.  Passersby must be baffled, but I don’t care.  I’m getting closer to some real 3D vision, and I am prepared to do whatever it takes–look dorky, make my house look dorky–whatever Jeri tells me to do, I am going to do.

Obviously, vision therapy homework involves a lot of looking, but these days, it’s pretty much a lot of staring.  This is the kind of VT homework I’m doing these days.

These are essentric eccentric circles, size large (you can see the size of my left hand in the picture.)  I’ve got the pair taped to my front door.  I stare out the window, looking softly at a square of sidewalk across the street, waiting for the two main circles to transform themselves into three.

The goal is for the center third circle to turn into something 3D.  When that magical moment happens, it will look like the small circle is perfectly centered in the large circle, and the small circle will be falling away, like looking into a glass bowl.

This magical moment happened for .01 seconds yesterday.  I have been staring for a couple weeks, trying and trying.  In a day or two, I bet the circles will finally click for me. This magical moment has happened for me using the much small eccentric circles a few weeks ago.

Here is a sketch of what I see when I try to get the circles to fuse.

First it’s double–I have four circles.

Then it turns into three circles (See Three Coins.)

Then sometimes the center (third coin) circle itself gets double-y.

It’s all very bizzare and floaty, dreaming, and hazy.  Stare stare stare.

Another activity I am doing is the tranaglyph.   I wear red/green glasses and look at the pictures & circles on the tranaglyph, and the whole mess is supposed to look 3D.

I have the tranyglyph taped to the window, to cue my brain to look far and soft, across the street.  The pictures on this are supposed to pop off, but pop off and be 3D falling behind the window: aka diverging.  Because I am an esotrope, it is harder for me to let my eyes be straight and look out far; they want to turn in.

I have been having a hard time with this tranaglyph this week.  It’s hard not to get frustrated day after day when it’s “not working.”  But I have to remember “not working” is always doing something for my eyes and brain connections.

I am doing red/green bar reading.  Still.  Reg/green bar reading is an excellent way to make my differently aiming eyes both look at the same distance together.  In order to read, both eyes must meet at the line of text.  If they don’t one of the colors will black out (red sees thru red, green sees thru green, but if only one eye is working, and looking thru the red, then the green bars will be black.

Once I get red/green bar reading squared away, I will use a flipper again (with a plus-lens and an minus-lens on it) while I read.  I did that back when I was wearing glasses, but now with contacts, I am sort of starting over in some areas.

The other homework I have been assigned is: go to the movie theatre and see a 3D movie!  As of now, my two choices are to watch Shark Night 3D, which is not particluarly appealing to me, or SpyKids.  But I saw that The Lion King is going to be released in 3D in a few days…I think I’m going to wait for that one.

13 comments on “what kinds of VT homework? #34

  1. On top of a dorky-looking you and a dorky-looking house, you get to be the creepy woman who stares out her front windows! Fun!!

    I would definitely wait for Lion King 3D. I’ve never been to a 3D movie…this may just be worth it! On top of a VT update, I’d love to hear how you like the movie. ;)

  2. Well done as always, Strabby. A small correction regarding the circles. They’re called “eccentric” circles, the name derived from the smaller inner circle of each pair being printed or displaced off-center, or eccentric, relative to its larger outer circle. The eccentricity of the pair of inner circles relative to the larger outer circle gives rise to the sensation of depth when you overlap them to create the virtually centered third circle. It’s kind of cool to think of the third set of circles your brain is creating through this overlap as a virtual reality that only exists in 3-D. Best wishes for continued success and enjoyment, and thanks so much for sharing your insightful observations and depictions.

  3. So excited to read of your progress in these last posts! (That turtle wins the race in the end. :-)

    That blue painter’s tape is the best. When I get settled in my new house, the Hart Charts will go up (just in time for the holidays!)

    Enjoy the Lion King (which means … don’t think about it … right?)

    There are several 3D cell phones out now and I am due for a new phone … hmmm … wonder what I would see gazing into those puppies?

  4. […] any other 3D experience I have had at the vision therapy office or at home doing homework.  All of those 3D experiences are more like 2D flat images popping out at […]

  5. […] see as far down the Brock string as well as I could in the summer.  It was once again very hard to read MFBF.  This was depressing to me, but it was also very […]

  6. I began vision therapy about 9 years ago after my dyslexic son had successfully followed a vision therapy program. Unfortunately shortly after starting my own program we made an overseas move and we have been expatriated in Hungary and Poland for approximately the last 8.5 years.

    Before even hearing about vision therapy I had worked on my vision using the Bates Method and some ideas from another book called “Natural Vision Improvement’. I can’t remember the author of the second book. I was amazed at that time how much I could improve my vision. As an amblyope who can only get 20:60 correction in the weak left eye, I was excited about the many ways that Vision Therapy worked on binocular vision and was hoping for great things.

    I had intended to continue with Vision Therapy after our country move, but with two home schooled teenagers to get back into gear, Vision Therapy was all but forgotten.

    Both my sons have now returned to the US and I have recently pulled out my Vision Therapy materials. I have: the red and green bar reading materials, eye patches, a ball, brock strings, polarizing glasses (but nothing to go with them), ‘see three coins’ card, overlapping pictures, hart charts, and other charts whose function I am unclear of. In addition I have an “Aperture Rule Orthoptic Trainer (AROT)’.

    I have 2 questions/requests:
    1) Can anyone explain how to use the AROT correctly? I don’t even remember whether the single window relates to ‘Base Out’, and double to ‘Base In’, or vice versa. I am not sure I am clear anymore what ‘Base In’ and ‘Base Out’ mean.
    2) Is anyone prepared to share some of their red-green pictures (tranglyphs), so that I can make greater use of my red-green glasses?

    My challenge is to figure out a new program for myself with my limited resources and limited memory of my original program. Any help would be much appreciated.

    • I would encourage you to visit the online adult strabismics forum at Sovoto:

      http://www.sovoto.com/group/adultstrabismicpatientsforum

      I also like Dr. Len Press’s blog, http://visionhelp.wordpress.com/

      I’m sorry but I don’t know anything about AROT (I can tell you that ‘base in’ is when the eyes -diverge- and ‘base out’ is when the eyes -converge-….but maybe that’s not the question you are asking.)

      thank you for reading my blog and taking the time to comment! Good luck as you continue to pursue you vision therapy…

      I wonder if there’s a good book available about this. I saw this book on the table at my vision therapist’s office the other week:

      http://www.bernell.com/product/4050/214

      Maybe something like that could be useful for you.

      • Thank you so much for your prompt response, and my apologies for posting my first reply twice–I am a little new to ‘blogging’.

        It would seem that although still not mainstream, Vision Therapy has become more widely accepted in the past decade, or that may just be the impression given by the advances in internet search engines over the same time period.

        I found the articles at the VisionHelp blog very interesting, and will be tracking this blog from now on.

        Bernell seem to be the company to go to for Vision Therapy supplies (but everything is very expensive.) They do carry the ‘Aperture rule':

        http://www.bernell.com/product/305/233.

        Unfortunately there are no helpful reminders on the site for how to use it.

        Another book (again expensive) that I am considering, based mainly on the first review comment in Amazon is ‘Clinical Management of Binocular Vision':

        The title would suggested something a lot heavier than I want to read, but the first review would suggest otherwise.

        I will not order anything until my next trip to the US later this year, so I have time to do more research before making any decisions.

        I have gone ahead and bought the audio version of the Susan Barry book. Audio books and ebooks, unlike physical books, are easy to buy, even in the middle of Eastern Europe.

        Thank you for setting up your blog and letting your fellow amblyopes know they are not alone in their ‘cock-eyed’ view of the world or their belief that this is NOT how it has to be.

  7. I began vision therapy about 9 years ago after my dyslexic son had successfully followed a vision therapy program. Unfortunately shortly after starting my own program we made an overseas move and we have been expatriated in Hungary and Poland for approximately the last 8.5 years.

    Before even hearing about vision therapy I had worked on my vision using the Bates Method and some ideas from another book called “Natural Vision Improvement’. I can’t remember the author of the second book. I was amazed at that time how much I could improve my vision. As an amblyope who can only get 20:60 correction in the weak left eye, I was excited about the many ways that Vision Therapy worked on binocular vision and was hoping for great things.

    I had intended to continue with Vision Therapy after our country move, but with two home schooled teenagers to get back into gear, Vision Therapy was all but forgotten.

    Both my sons have now returned to the US and I have recently pulled out my Vision Therapy materials. I have: the red and green bar reading materials, eye patches, a ball, Brock strings, polarizing glasses (but nothing to go with them), ‘see three coins’ card, overlapping pictures, hart charts, and other charts whose function I am unclear of. In addition I have an “Aperture Rule Orthoptic Trainer (AROT)’.

    I have 2 questions/requests:
    1) Can anyone explain how to use the AROT correctly? I don’t even remember whether the single window relates to ‘Base Out’, and double to ‘Base In’, or vice versa. I am not sure I am clear anymore what ‘Base In’ and ‘Base Out’ mean.
    2) Is anyone prepared to share some of their red-green pictures (tranglyphs), so that I can make greater use of my red-green glasses?

    My challenge is to figure out a new program for myself with my limited resources and limited memory of my original program. Any help would be much appreciated.

  8. I found your blog searching for essentric circles….:)
    If you have the time, could you please let me know where I can
    get my own Transparent Eccentric Circles that you use on your
    window??? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers